Alexander Ekman / Franz Joseph Haydn / Ludwig van Beethoven / Franz Schubert


contemporary ballet 12

Ballet in one act

Hungarian premier

Choreographer Alexander Ekman addresses on the contemporary dance stage a theme with which he defines himself as well: modern dance itself. The work passionately, and often raucously, picks apart the mannerisms of dance. Sixteen dancers stand visibly frozen on gigantic Scrabble tiles. While the string quartet plays and ironic-sounding words are heard spoken, the dancers run around, fall down, writhe on the floor and attempt to escape from their invisible prison. Eventually, each of them acquires a cactus. A play of rhythms between dancers and musicians.

Alexander Ekman is represented by Stepping Grounds Arts/CultureManagement. 

Hungarian translation by Minka Benkő.

Music of the First part of 'Cacti': Collectively put together, improvised and composed by Tinta Schmidt von Altenstadt, David Marks, Saskia Viersen, Artur Trajko and Jan Pieter Koch / musical coordinator from the Presto movement of Franz Schubert: Symphony, "Death and the Maiden"

Further you can hear also the symphonic version of Franz Schubert's "Death and the Maiden" (arr. A. Stein) / performed by “Kungliga Hovkapellet/Royal Swedish Opera”


Premiere: Sept. 11, 2020