Ybl207 Gala Concert


Seven years ago, we celebrated the bicentenary of the birth of a great admirer of Italian Renaissance, the legendary Hungarian architect Miklós Ybl, who left behind not only his masterpiece, the Opera House but also such timeless works as the Castle Bazaar, St. Stephen’s Basilica and the Danubius Fountain on Erzsébet Square. The concert was attended by an audience of engineers and architects, and we have been trying to make the Ybl Concert a celebration of the architectural profession ever since. When compiling the programme for the concert, we tried to select from masterpieces of Ybl’s contemporaries.


Claude Debussy: L'Après-midi d'un Faune
András Gábor Virágh: Les couleurs des Vagues – Violin Concerto
Ernst von Dohnányi: Symphony No. 1 in D minor, Op. 9

Featuring on violin: Ernő Kállai
Conductor: Balázs Kocsár
Featuring the Hungarian State Opera Orchestra.